Board Members

Youth Science Center

Board of Directors for 2019

Officers:                                                                                  Executive Committee:

Chairman:  Ron Chong                                                           Ron Chong

Vice Chair: Roger Huynh                                                       Roger Huynh

Treasurer:  Philip Teders                                                        Philip Teders

Secretary:  Victor Wu                                                              Victor Wu

Ron Chong (2017) – Chairman

Ron Chong obtained a B.S. in Chemical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley in 1964.  His entire professional career spanned 32 years in the Fluor Corporation Methods and Data Section in Irvine.  This group provided technical support for Fluor’s chemical engineers.  He was a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers and the American Petroleum Institute Technical Data Committee.  After retiring from Fluor in 1997, he has volunteered time with the Youth Science Center in various administrative and program capacities, including managing the summer and afterschool programs, developing the Youth Science Center’s computer lab, grant writing and writing the Youth Science Center’s newsletter.   He has lived in Hacienda Heights with his wife Judy, since 1969.


Roger Huynh (2018) – Vice Chairman

Mr. Roger Huynh graduated from California State University, Los Angeles (Cal State LA) in 1992 with a Special Degree in Computer Graphics.  He created his own Degree in Computer Graphics by combining computer programming and art design and was the first to graduate with this degree at Cal State LA. Some of the most notable works he has been associated with include the Oscar Award Winner for “Best Visual Effects” in The Lord of the Rings. Currently Mr. Huynh, and his team, teach at many elementary and high schools – in both Los Angeles and Orange Counties.

Philip Teders (2017) -Treasurer

Philip Teders brings over 15 years of banking and finance experience to the table. He is currently the branch manager for US Bank in the City of Baldwin Park. His areas of expertise include finance, business and customer service. Phil had served on the board for three years prior to being named treasurer in 2014. His Hacienda Heights branch won awards year after year. He has a degree in Finance from California State University of San Bernardino. Phil lives in Upland with his wife and son.

Victor Wu (2018), CPA, EA   Secretary

Victor Wu has over ten years in the accounting and taxation profession.  He began his career at Hinton, Kreditor & Gronroos, LLP (HKG, LLP).  At HKG, LLP, an accounting firm, he was responsible for providing accounting, auditing and tax services for closely held corporations in various industries including manufacturing, wholesale distribution, real estate and construction, entertainment and not-for-profit organizations.

Currently, he has his own practice and continues to provide mainly accounting and tax services to closely held businesses.  He also provides taxation and compliance services to individuals, partnerships and corporations, including payroll and sales tax returns.  He is a certified public accountant and an enrolled agent for the Internal Revenue Service.    He is also a board member of the Gilb Museum of Arcadia Heritage, Arcadia Historical Museum Foundation, San Gabriel Chamber of Commerce (Treasurer).  He also serves on the Arcadia Methodist Hospital as a committee member.

Scott Bevans (2019) Board Member

Scott Bevans has over 30 years in manufacturing management, having worked for Cytec Engineered Materials, Rainbird Sprinkler Corporation, and for the past 10 years with Quemetco, Inc., where he currently serves as Plant Manager and Vice President of California Operations for RSR Corporation.  Quemetco is a subsidiary of RSR, a Dallas-based company recognized as the world’s leader in safe and environmentally responsible lead-acid battery recycling through innovations in science and engineering.

Scott holds a BA in Chemistry from Middlebury College, an MS in Chemical Engineering from Columbia University, and an MBA from Pepperdine University.

Victoria Soong (2017) – Board Member

Vicky Soong has been and continues to be dedicated member of the Youth Science Center.  She began volunteering for YSC in 1987 when her eldest son started kindergarten at Wedgeworth Elementary School.  Mrs. Soong maintained the museum, worked part time as a staff member, and became increasingly involved in YSC’s programs and its annual gala dinner fundraiser.  Mrs. Soong is also a retired nurse from the Philippines, where she earned her BSN from the Philippine Women’s University College of Nursing.  She worked as an industrial nurse at the Philippine Bank of Communications, a staff nurse at the local government hospital, and as a volunteer civilian flight nurse with the Philippine Air Force in the mid 70’s prior to immigrating in the United States and settling with her family in Long Beach, California. Mrs. Soong worked as a staff nurse at St. Mary’s Hospital in Long Beach and at various hospitals in the San Gabriel Valley in the intensive/critical care units in the early ’80’s.  Mrs. Soong currently serves as a YSC board member and President of the nonprofit Philippine Women’s University Alumni Association of Southern California, volunteers for Kalayaan (annual Philippine Independence Day celebration), Philippine Women’s Alumni Association of Southern California, and serves as class representative for the Philippine Women’s University Nursing Association of the United States.

Chad Wilson – Board Member

After growing up in southern Oregon, Chad Wilson attended the University of San Diego where he received both his bachelor and juris doctor degrees. After passing the bar exam, Chad represented design professionals (architects, engineers, land surveyors, etc.) for over six years and now represents construction contractors. He currently is a member of Lanak & Hanna, P.C. in Orange County. In addition to California, he is admitted to practice in Hawaii. Chad lives in Orange County with his wife and three-year-old son.